font



Tuesday, February 1, 2011

Dahlquists' & salsa [ =

February seems to be FULL of birthdays on my boyfriends side [given my grandpas is on superbowl sunday] Jespers' mom, dad, brother, grandma, & gpa are all in this month. crazy

That being said- I went with Jesper, his dad, and his brother on a 4.5 hr whale watching trip around santa barbara harbor. It was amazing, and beautiful & i felt soo.....accepted! A feeling i never ever get when I'm around Jespers mom!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I have also been trying to perfect a really hott salsa for the beef [the nickname i have come up with for the boyfriend.] one where, he is soo astonished, how hott it is.
I think i finally have!

You will need::
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

-5 large tomatoes
-2 green chilies
-1 habanaro
-about 3 -4 cloves of garlic
-1/4 of an onion
- 1 lime [or lemon -your preference]
Side note:: usually parsley is used, but this time i made it without and used garlic instead = ]

As i chop these ingredients i love to toss them into my cuisinart food processor
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I chop up the tomatoes, they don't need to be cut too tiny.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Then i peel the cloves of garlic
as well as mince them

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

and then i toss half of the tomatoes into the cuisinart
and half into a bowl to be used later
i put all of the garlic into the cuisinart

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I then chop up 1/4 of the onion

I put half into the cuisinart..and the other half in a bowl to use later
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

this will be thrown into the cuisinart later, to make the salsa thicker than it would be if i used all of the ingredients at once.

I then cop up about 1 1/2 of the the green chillies
I cut then whole & use every part of them

Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I then chop up the Habanaro
Be careful not to touch the seeds or the inside, if you accidently do this
run your hands under water and soap for quite some time
Just cutting into this made my eyes burn

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I use every piece of it.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I then cut up the Lime & squeeze all of it into the cuisinart mix
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

then chop and mix half of the tomatoes, and onions and chillies and the lime, garlic and salt& pepper mixture
Not thoroughly
just until it is well blended

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

then add the other half of the tomatoes, and the onions that you've set aside in a bowl
this will help make the salsa thicker, and less runny.
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

& voila'!!
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

We used this opportunity to turn this into Mexican night
& we sauted some chicken as well as baked two corn tortillas
added some sour cream, avocados and lettuce to the mix & topped it with the salsa
soo YUMMY♥
Image and video hosting by TinyPic


Thursday, January 27, 2011

prawns!!

The boyfriend brought home a ton of prawns last night.
One of his clients has been gave him a lovely yummy bottle of pinot gris firestone wine a few weeks ago & now he has given him frozen shrimp.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

I am not a huge fan of shrimp. Sometimes it can be too fishy. So i first divided the shrimp into about 7 almost 2lb zip lock bags. I gave one to our amazing neighbor. 1 bag will go to My boyfriends brother. 1 bag is go to my boyfriends father. And we kept 4. I froze three of them & made 6 large prawns for dinner last night.

The recipe i used came out soo delicious. I was soo proud that i couldn't help but share!

You will need:
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

-6 large prawns
-5 - 6 cloves of garlic
-3 tablespoons of butter
-a small lemon
-about a tablesppon of parsly
-salt
-pepper

These prawns still had their shells on them. So we cut the shells off, then 'de pooped' them [yes the black stuff towards the south end of the ship is actually their poop] then, because we are on this 'diet-ish' kick. We did not want to make a big portion, but to feed both of us, I cut the 6 shrimp in half length wise.
[the bottle of wine in the background, is optional - tho i love to have a glass of wine as i cook : )]
Image and video hosting by TinyPic
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

then in a non stick pan...melt the butter [to keep this completely fat free, you could substitute the butter for extra virgin olive oil]
while the butter is melting squeeze one half of the lemon onto the shimp sitting in the bowl


when the butter is melted, toss the shrimp in
let it cook for about two minutes
then add the garlic -- we used a garlic press

also add some flavor with a pinch of salt
and a pinch of pepper

let it cook for 6 to 7 minutes
then squeeze the other half of the lemon onto it [i added both halves because i really did NOT want it to taste fishy at all.]

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

then at the very end [about 12 minutes ] i added the parsley
and cooked it with the shrimp about 2-4 minutes longer

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic



voila'! it made a very good, yet small portion. We added some rice to it & it was a very reat, yummy & filling meal!

Wednesday, January 26, 2011

New Year ♥

Recap:: xmas sucked. My boyfriends mother is truly weird.and crazy and said things like 'i feel death around me..' while in the car with me!

New years was amazing. We were in big sur , california & no cell reception! which was great considering my bfs' mother was texting him and leaving voicemails like a psycho girlfriend..rather than a mom.

its been almost three weeks since she has called and our relationship has been amazing since we are able to focus on US.Not deal with his mom telling him how 'hard' she is going to make things when we get married.


Big sur:
Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Monday, May 24, 2010

The Love of my life ♥

. I hated leaving him today.
[does this make me sound like a crazy cat lady?!]

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

At least he has over 40 other cats to play with the next 9 days
...tho i've never had him around another cat. I do hope things go well

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

It broke my heart to see him looking at us like we were abandoning him as we left..
we DID rescue this amazing guy I hope he wasn't worried we were never coming back!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

handsome; handsome guy ♥

get OVER it hunnie; lifes' a two way street -- if u wanna continue being a man of mine...

Image and video hosting by TinyPic


Good Morning

I can't stand grumpy people! I don't get how J has turned into such a self absorbed person.He woke me up 3x's from a dead sleep; to ask 1. where the cat was..2. that the fan was blowing the wrong way...3. some mumbling about dolphins. The last time he woke me up was 5am...So i got up at 5:30 after he said 'wtf is going on..u going back to sleep or what?!..' and asked him at 6:50 if he wanted me to bring coffee back for him; in which i get a lecture of how rude I AM & how I don't let him sleep...
so i said you're gunna regret this & left!
I have been turning the tables -- when i ask him questions about flying last nite..all i got was a 'YES Cyndiiiiiiii...' the way a child would after you've scolded them! So if i'm not going to get any respect from HIm. I decided to turn the tables and do it to him...when he asked if i was coming to bed soon i said "I GUESS JESPERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR"... & so on. See how he likes to be talked down to like a child! ughh i've been praying lately as to whether i should stay in this - i feel like clearly - i'm getting my answers...only my eyes are wide open;more so than ever before!
I've exhausted my heart♥, time, energy..not to mention my 15,000$ bank acct! to keep the repo man away from HIS car! I'm emotionally exhausted & want off this rollar coaster! A friend made it clear to me....looked me in the eyes and said "what? do u enjoy being hurt?'... NO I don't ! frankly; i've had enough..how dumb am i to be emotionally pounded on [as well as ..]

I am scared to show anxiety about flying ; but am told how hammered he wants to get in the airport - & i know when that happens how flirty he gets; I'm nervous to be on an airplane with a man; I can't say I trust anymore! I keep just trying to drink water & count to 4 or 7...like my lovely g'ma told me

We take the cat to his boarding place tonite!I am going to miss my nite cuddles with that lil guy - does this make me a crazy cat lady!? haha Then at 4 AM i will drive to LAX; leave my car & board the plane at 7:30AM!! ahhhhh!

Cross your fingers for me & if you pray...send a little one up for me!
For I am soo nervous!

Sunday, May 23, 2010

allergies = worst thing everrrrr!!!

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Today was nice! We had a spa date day! i got my nails and feet done; and soo did the beef; man these woman LOVED him! He had two girls working on him at once haha - i simply said...don't get used to it = ]!

I've been feeling like shit with these damn allergies! I hate it! I Hope Florida offers a cleaner place; better weather, so I don't have to suffer as much!

We've been washing clothes ALLL day; where is that Maid i always said i'd have when i moved out? haha - ritee!
And the clothes that are clean that we want to take to florida; we have simply been packing slowly but surely! The beef and I are looking at urbanspoon at the 3 places were going to in Florida; to try to find some good places to eat. Good happy hour..etc. Gosh the pictures are soo beautiful they almost look fake to me!
I pray the oil hasnt made it there quite yet; so i can share and experience some of that beauty first hand!
I pray i don't freak out on the plane!
I'm not looking forward to our 4 hr layover in dulles..ughh! But I DID find out we can pack food as long as we eat it on the plane and don't take it back off with us into the airport..so i will be making sandwhiches and boiled eggs [ =

Gosh; I can't believe its less than 48 hrs away!! soo surreal!!

Saturday, May 22, 2010

& sometimes I wonder; just who you'd be today.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Today i got the last minute items i wanted for the trip; a bikini cover; shorts; and an extra memory card for my lil and big digi cameras!

We are taking my lover ♥ zeus to a cat hotel...they seriously asked if he preferred a top or bottom condo...haha i was like uhhhh lettme ask! [ = It will only be 80$ and at least Js' family doesn't have to feel obligated to come be with him & clean his box while were on vacay!

I've been holding back setting resrvations for jespers bday surprises that i've wanted to do for him; I was seeing where the oil spill was headed and what not! But i will have to hurry and book things monday while he is at work! I am soo excited to swim with dolphins!!

I am scared to get on this plane & hope to sleep thru it! ahh my gma brought my xanax that i took to go to europe down here when they visited! It was nice to get to see my family! I love them soo much & they gave me and jesper a bon voyage card with 200$ in it! YAY!

tomorrow like most sundays are our spa date days...we go get a mani pedi & then go to a movie then come home. Tho I think I will forget about the movie; since I have about 4 hrs of laundry to do for the trip!
I have to be up at FOUR AM tuesday morning; to drive to LAX; as the plane leaves at 7:50 and we have to be there an hr or soo before!!

I am baking J an earlie bday cake ! I loveeee baking && I hope he enjoys it!
[ =